Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

Internal rattle???

6K views 34 replies 7 participants last post by  Jacob Staples 
#1 ·
I am new to this sight and new Bullitt owner. I have a tapping\cackling noise coming from passenger side valve cover from what the shop and I can tell by just listening to it. Is there a right up on changing the lash adjusters and the cam followers? It has a new cam and springs from previous owner shop installed. I heard that the adjuster can wear out and the whole thing move up n down which causes that noise. I am prepared to change all followers and adjusters. Any help would be great. I want to do it all myself like I do with all my cars. I just need some info.

#2 ·
new cam, should be new cams if changed unless just one was an issue. how many miles on the motor? were the guides changed too?

#3 ·
This was my old Bullitt. The cams were installed when the car had ~70,000 miles by Brenspeed back in 2013. They recommended replacing valve springs, which were done at the same time. They didn't mention replacing any of the followers or guides and they weren't on the receipt, so I assume still all stock. It had just under 80,000 miles when I sold the car earlier this year. I've spoken to Jacob about this and recommended he come here for more info as I'm just not savvy when it comes to the internal workings of these mod motors. Is this a common thing? In all the posts I've read on here over the years, this hasn't really come up all that much.

#4 ·
sound can travel easily. first step would be to use a stethoscope to try to narrow down exactly where the sound is coming from. if not one of those, a long screwdriver will work, just not as well.

Reactions: Bullitt 736
#5 ·
Thanks itsabullitt for the help.