Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to cars, so I don't know much...how is our stock exhaust setup? Does it go from headers to catalytic converter, to muffler, to exhaust? I'm not sure how it works, can someone explain everything starting from the motor down to the end? Also, is a catback when the exhaust bends up like a cat's back? Thanks!

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
It has an "H" pipe with 6 small cats on it!
Then it has the "Cat Back" (Mufflers and the pipe part that goes over the rear axle).
Then the tips on the ends of the pipes at the rear.

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The only thing I really knew about the car was that it was an H pipe. Right underneath the driver's and passenger's seat there's a big block type thing with what I believe to be a heat shield...what's inside that heat shield, the catalytic convert, or the muffler? Also, what's a silencer, another word for a muffler? Lastly, what exactly is a catback? Thanks once again, and I appreciate your help thus far!

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
If you look on the H pipe you will find 4 or 6 catalytic converters (can't remember for sure but I thought there were 6) and yes, they have heat shields.

A silencer is the plastic tube that is on the air filter box that sticks thru from the engine compartment to the fender on the passenger side.

A "Cat Back" is exactly what I said. It is the rest of the exhaust system to the rear of the end of the H pipe.

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
Maybe it'd be helpful to say that "catback" is just a way of saying, catalytic converter/back. Meaning the exhaust system from the catalytic converter back to the muffler or tailpipe.

·
Registered
7,977 Posts
On the bullitts there are only 4 cats and the stock system is suppose to be 2&1/4 inches but its not, is not quite 2 inches in some spots.

·
Administrator
13,266 Posts