Mustang Bullitt Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all + Merry Christmas,

Please be patient with this question, I know it has probably been asked numerous times in the past:

My Bullitt has 1050 miles on her so far. The first 500 miles I drove her easy; the last 500 I drove her a little harder but didn't abuse her. I started her up yesterday and saw a small cloud of white smoke exit out the rear. The small white cloud of smoke did not continue as I warmed her up. I checked my oil level and it showed that I was at least a 1/4 or closer to 1/2 down on my oil stick.

My first thought was that the rings and pistons need time to set and it's normal to use this amount of oil during break-in and the white puff of smoke is also normal? But, I'm not a mechanic or pretend to be. I have an average knowledge of how to service an engine. I will be taking her in next week for her first oil change.

Is the above issue with the oil level normal during break-in? Do I need to worry about the smoke? Your thoughts are appreciated!:confused:

Thank You.

·
Registered
635 Posts
I think the puff of smoke you saw may actually be steam from condensation in the exhaust; nothing to worry about. I have a hard time resisting to nail the throttle with the TCS off... and I've only got a couple hundred miles on mine. I really should take it easy though, like you have be doing. I do make sure to warm it up, before jumping on it.

Just keep the oil level in the mid range on the dipstick, and drive it normally. Most important is to vary the engine speed alot during break in (no steady cruise in 5th yet), and I also believe in changing engine oil a few times (like 2-3) during the first couple thousand miles. I think it helps flush out anything left there during assembly. My 2¢.

:dhg08:

BTW - this is my first post here. Hi everyone! I bought my '08 Bullitt this month. :)

·
Registered
2,443 Posts