Mustang Bullitt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Lifetime Supporting Member
39,321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure I'm not the only one who knows this, but maybe I'm the only one with cajones large enough to say it: The stock Ford shifter is crap. Upshifts to third are pure crud, and downshifts from 5th to 4th are downright scary. There, I said it.

Back in the day, my '65 GTO with Hurst shifter was smooth as silk. This thing Ford calls a shifter is cumbersome, sticky and... well, it's just not a good shifter. And that's all I've got to say about that.

·
Registered
5,012 Posts
:lol:

I let the shifter do the work with slight guidance from me and it works fine.

The shifter for '08 is apparently improved over earlier versions, with a shorter throw.

I have no experience with earlier S197s, but I have seen a picture of the shifter from an '05 or '06. There were differences in the mechanism, the lower arm that the shift rod connects to, and the lever.

Hurst's Comp plus is similar to the stock one (uses the same frame) but the spherical bearing is completely different, much smoother.

So far I'll stick with stock.

·
Registered
969 Posts
took a little "finagglin" to get the hang of those 2nd to 3rd shifts. what took me in to the land of bliss was a post i read once (either here or on another mustang forum). the author of the post said the way he made the shift from 2nd to 3rd as by using the palm of his hand without wrapping his fingers around the shift knob. i am very appreciative for his point of view. takes a little getting used to at first and soon becomes very natural. done correctly it allows a "chirp" going into 3rd. great stuff!!

·
Registered
249 Posts
I live in laid back Kerrville, Texas, pop. 21,477, and traffic here is nice and easy. I imagine if I lived in a big city I would very much appreciate a shorter throw shifter.

·
Registered
1,792 Posts
StvMcQueen said: