Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
543 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would a Ford Racing aluminum driveshaft help reduce or eliminate the clunking and clacking some us are experiencing in our drivetrains? Are they better balanced? Or is reduced weight the only benefit of aluminum? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
8,775 Posts
Most OE applications of AL driveshafts are to increase the powertrain bending frequency (reduced weight) which is calculated based on the maximum speed the vehicle can obtain at the point the powertrain hit it's resonance frequency (not good for trans. tail shafts or housings, etc.). Although it's lower rotational inertia may provide some help with the issue, the fact that unless set up with liners the AL may transmit more noise than a steel d/s. I'm not a powertrain expert, this is based on being exposed to a few NVH issues while working 23 years in the industry. There are probably some experts out there that can provide additional details.

·
Registered
959 Posts
Ford hangs that big heavy vibration damper weight on the rear end to quell some of the driveline vibration. I removed min when I was under there installing the panhard Bar. I did not notice much increase in driveline NVH with it removed.

I know they did a recall on early current generation F bodies to replace driveshafts due to vibration problems and they went to an aluminum one. An aluminum driveshaft most likely will handle higher rotational speeds due to less weight and I would think it would contribute less noise for the same reason. Now, Bullitt4003 has a point in it may resonate more.. don't know that for sure. I plan on installing one when Uncle Sam sends me my tax sheet so I'll let you know.

Brian

·
Registered
543 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input. What exactly does "set up with liners" mean?

·
Premium Member
8,775 Posts