Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How hard is it to change your gears,and does any one know of a site that may explain how to do it.

·
Registered
798 Posts
From what I have heard and read, it is pretty tedious. I would recommend maybe letting someone who has experience in gear swaps do it. Not saying that you don't, this is what I have learned from my research on this topic.

·
Registered
641 Posts
I used to do them when I was a tech, but I had all the Ford tools and that made the job easy. The good swap kits come with everything to do the job right, but for a first timer it may seem daunting and if you don't get it set just right, your gears may whine. See if you can get someone who has done it before to give you a hand.

·
Registered
14,703 Posts
I just paid someone to do them.

·
Registered
4,763 Posts
I was given the advice to have someone eles do the, and as this is a very bad thing to do wrong and not work right i think i will.

·
Premium Member
1,611 Posts
I just got 373s from 50resto in Waco. Got the whole kit gears marker stuff, new bearings, shims, oil etc for $300 delivered. You can get any gears ratio you want. I am looking for someone to put them in. There was a post on IMBOC a couple weeks ago for another site that had pictures and all thought I bookmarked it but can't find it. Maybe someone else has it.

·
Registered
10,404 Posts
I think StangNet.com may have something

·
Registered
2,768 Posts
Have you ever rebuilt your own transmission?

·
Premium Member
3,988 Posts