Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
889 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, those of us that don't work in an air cond. building how hot has it been at work? It reached 101 today at my place of employment. I spray paint for a living, it sucks puting on a Tyvek suit and a spray sock and a respirator on my head, then crawl inside an inclosed tank to paint. My hats off to those who work outdoors in the sun!!

Remember, drink lots of water!!
Stay cool, Mark

·
Premium Member
18,432 Posts
Don't take this wrong, but I am not jealous. I've done my time in ultrahot jobs without airconditioning as a young man. Now that I am old and nearly worn out I think life is too short to do those things if I'm not required.

Please take care of yourself while working in the heat!

·
Premium Member
6,218 Posts
hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! Then hydrate some more!

I'm a wuss, I couldn't do it in the heat, which is why I chose the profession I did. Hats off to those that do.

·
Premium Member
3,988 Posts
We've been in the mid to upper-90's for about 7 straight days. I didn't pay much attention to them the first couple of days, but the heat indices have been running 105-118 around this area for the last five days...depending on exactly where you are. And yeah, I have to work in it. I'll be glad when it returns to normal, 90 degrees with a heat index of less than a 100. I'm getting kind of tired of changing shirts four times a day.

I had to move about 17,000 lbs of river rock over the last few evenings. Completely inaccessible with anything other than a wheelbarrow. I finished last night at 10:30 and the heat index was still over 100.

·
Registered
78 Posts
119* by my locker the other day. I'd say close to 130* in other places. I work in a corn processing plant, with lots of motors turning equipment.

·
Registered
7,944 Posts