Mustang Bullitt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Newbie here. Went down to the local Ford store last week to get the wife a new car. Her 01 Benz CLK 430 Cab, which she loved, has recently dropped out of warranty, and with 70K on the clock, the potential cost of repairs was making us nervous. She liked the look of the Mustangs ever since the new body style, and was agreeable to checking some out. We are kind of car/bike aholics, and tend to switch up vehicles often. I have had a C5 Vette, and she has had a Z3 BMW, a couple CLK Cabs, an E 500, and a turbo Eclipse AWD. I also am certified Hayabusa nut, having owned both an 01 and 03 model. She likes euro stuff, but I'm a domestic fan, so I was glad she wanted to take a look at a Ford. Anyway..we ended up bringing home Black 08 #2642.

So, after all that long winded fluff, here is my question: This is my first Mustang. I am a huge McQueen fan, and appreciate the significance of the Bullitt package. She, however, doesn't see it that way. She really wants me to add the GT hood scoop and the rear spoiler from the Shelby GT350 body kit.

It's her car, a daily driver, and we all know that it is important to keep Momma happy in the interest of domestic harmony.....but would these adds on a Bullitt be wrong? I don't have any visions of "collectability" affecting the value of this rig down the road, and we rarely keep a car more than a couple of years. (However my 10 year old is lobbying hard to keep this one until he turns 16!!)

So..I ask for opinions....what do you all think?

·
Registered
14,857 Posts
welcome to the site and IMBOC and you 2 made a great choice
mamma will be very happy as time goes on , getting use to her bullitt and personalizing... I had an 07 balck/ silver stripes shelby gt ( not a gt500 ) and personally liked the hood scoop and stripes.....i was not aware of a rear spoiler on the shleby gt (350 ) but the GT500 rear spoiler looks great