Mustang Bullitt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here...Does anyone else get a pretty significant 'clunk' when going over uneven pavement? It almost sounds like a loose spare tire (d'oh, checked that and figured it out with the manual but made sure the compressor is cinched down), the wood under the trunk mat (seems seated properly), or loose exhaust or worse. I've been under the car and can't find anything obvious as a problem. Could it be *gasp* the diff? Any experiences you've had would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
18,432 Posts
When in doubt with a new set of wheels I have the dealer verify the problem. If nothing else you have it documented and you are prepared for any warranty issue later.

As for the clunk, I think that's just good old fashioned rear end action as a result of the car doing a side to side swoosh. And the rear end is bumping against it's keepers. Stil, I'd let the dealer shop look it over and drive it. That's just me.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Well, the stock driveline is know to be clunky. Not sure if thats what you're hearing or not. I know my tires make quite a bit of noise when going over bumpy pabement at speed, but I don't remember any clunking. If you're hitting significant bumps at speed, could your car be bottoming out?

·
Registered
263 Posts
NickChildress said:
Noob here...Does anyone else get a pretty significant 'clunk' when going over uneven pavement? It almost sounds like a loose spare tire (d'oh, checked that and figured it out with the manual but made sure the compressor is cinched down), the wood under the trunk mat (seems seated properly), or loose exhaust or worse. I've been under the car and can't find anything obvious as a problem. Could it be *gasp* the diff? Any experiences you've had would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.