Mustang Bullitt Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i plan on running a off road x for a while and was gonna get mil eliminators. will it cause any drivability problems or cause any loss of power.... do they just send a signal to the computer sayin everything is ok? i kinda dont know how they work... if anyone can explain i would be able to understand being that i work on cars for a living and understand how to read 02 signals and such.
thanks jeff
i would be getting them from american muscle

·
Premium Member
13,063 Posts
they do not cause any drivability issues or loss of power. They just tell the computer all is ok and prevents the idiot check engine light to come on....but...even without the MIL elims, if the light comes on, it still won't change any performance issues. 3230 has lived much of it's life with that light on for one reason or another.
I had some generic MIL elim that burned out pretty quick.....then got Steeda and have had no problems with them for over 60+k. Most people report similar issues...and Steeda's appear to be the running favorite

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
i have BBK MIL's, no major problems, one of my rear O2 sensor plugs went bad, and that threw a code, but that was because the thing literally was burned up, not a wire misfire as far as i can tell...

however, i think your problem is gonna be that (IF i remember correctly) the MIL's just became extinct, at least temporarily, because some a'hole politician passed some crap legislation saying they promote pollution...

i heard that somewhere on a forum, might even have been here, but check into it, maybe go on summitracing, or check BBK or steeda's website first...

good luck!

shaun

·
Registered
1,114 Posts
Bullitt 736 said:
Did you buy the Radio Shack stuff???

If not, have you got a diagram and instructions or is it the same as posted above??