Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
BEST BULLITT Nats 06
13,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering if our using 5w30 synthetic oil will affect our warranty at all. I have seen this subject posted before and have seen several different answers. Mr. T, do you have any input on this subject for us?

Vicki
DHG #344

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
I am no expert, but if our cars come with 5-20w oil from Ford, why can't we use 5-30w Regular or Synthetic motor oil? It will still flow at 5 weight, but would have a better viscosity at 30 then 20w. So why does Ford want us to use ONLY 5-20w?

When my engine breaks in and exceeds 3000 miles, I am switching to (Mobil 1 5-30w) unless someone can explain the theory to all of this. Anyone from Ford on this forum?

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Your car came with Ford 5w20 synthetic blend oil. You can get it at your Ford dealer. Or, you can get Amsoil 5w20 synthetic shipped to you. Someone at a car show told me about it and once I looked into it I had a case and one of their filters delivered to my door in less that 3 days

·
BEST BULLITT Nats 06
13,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
bullitt220: You sure that our cars came with the Ford 5w20 synthetic oil and not regular?

·
Registered
543 Posts
I really don't think a Ford dealer is going to test our oil to make sure we are using 5W20 if a engine warranty issue comes about. All they really want to see is that oil changes were done within the specified time intervals. That said, I did my first oil change last week at 1000 miles with Ford 5W20 premium oil. Next oil change will be at 3000 with synthetic and every 3000 thereafter. It will be with 5W20 synthetic if I can find it. If not then Valvoline 5W30 synthetic will do.

John

#2731 True Blue
Bassani X Pipe w/Cats
Magnaflows (wielded in)
Aluminum Driveshaft
Steeda Tri-Ax Shifter
Densecharger CAI
Superchips Premium Fuel Chip
GT Fog Lights / Tinted Windows
MGW LTD - Interior Pieces
StonGard