Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got the most annoying steering squeal ever. Anytime I turn the wheel even the slightest bit I hear a squeal/sqeak near the wheel. It also occurs when I go over bumps in the road, i can hear that same noise. I've eliminated the wheel bearing as an issue, as the noise only occurs when i turn. My best guess is that it's coming from either end of the tie rod, probably the joint that has the rubber boot. Anyone else ever had a problem whith this noise? Sounds like something needs to be replaced : (

I'm relatively new to fords so I don't know much about the steering system. On my old gmc I had nubs where I could go in and grease these joints if they became squeaky. Any ideas?

·
Registered
987 Posts
It could b the joints but if they were bad they would make a poping sound. Check the steering rack.

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
Mine was a ball joint.
I replaced them both, of course.

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Check the fluid in the power steering reservoir. Mine (and others) have a small leak that I have been unable to find!

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
P-51 Bullitt said:
Check the fluid in the power steering reservoir. Mine (and others) have a small leak that I have been unable to find!
Power steering fluid seems to be topped off. The noise is originating either from the tie rod end or the ball joint, or possibly from the flex joint (rubber boot) near the center of the steering system. I'm going to try to put it up on jackstands and take a video, and hopefully that will help narrow it down.

Are any of these potential problems a costly fix? I've replaced tie rods before but from the looks of it, I may potentially have to take it somewhere to get it fixed.

·
Registered
185 Posts