Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name is Peter and I'm new here. I'm all but decided I'm going to buy an 08 Bullitt. I've been holding off in getting a new car for maybe 2 years now, just waiting for the right car to come along. And with the recent heavy rains in Northern CA, my 2002 BMW 330i is leaking like a sieve (long story involving 4 massively defective window regulators). I have an old Mustang and have been jonesing for the new body style. And the understated "sleeper" aspect of the Bullitt is right up my alley. So the "elephant in the room" I'm referring to in the title is pricing.

I'm amazed and impressed that there isn't more chatter about that around here and I even looked for a sticky or rule that said it shouldn't be discussed but couldn't find one. So I figured I'd start a thread with what's a realistic price for the 08 Bullitt. I pass within spitting distance of 3 Ford dealers on my commute, and the first one I visited wanted sticker + $9k! They said that's what they sold their first one for. I'm sorry, I'm not interested.

My wife called a local one for me and they're looking for $3k over sticker and planning to list it on eBay. I checked out eBay closed auctions and it looks like no one's sold one for over sticker, at least not by much. And a few sold without reserve look like they may have been a dollar or two under.

So is it OK to start a discussion of what the going rate at the local dealer is? What are people able to negotiate? I'm in the Bay Area and have access to about 10 dealers in relatively short driving distance, but it's also Bullitt-land and that may increase the local interest. I don't have my heart set on any of the options and could really go either way on any of them, although I'm not likely to sign up for satellite radio and would prefer not to have a bolt-on antenna.