Mustang Bullitt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking of going out to SIR this Sunday and trying my hand at the drag strip. I have never done that before. I am concerned about stressing the engine and breaking something though. I have over 2K miles on it and it is running pretty good, but what are the chances of damaging something. This is a car made for running after all. Plus how does it affect the warranty? As far as I understand the factory warranty won't cover anything damaged during racing, but will it void the coverage on the engine entirely?

·
Premium Member
1,271 Posts
RUN IT!!.. While you it IS in fact possible to damage something while draggin' it's highly improbable. I've done a lot of Running with my Bullitt o-solo already. Heck.. I've got a whole bunch of runs from 10-110mph just merging with the X-way traffic from Halsted Ave.. and since the Bullitt just breaks 100 in the 1/4 I'd say those were the stressful equivalents to a 1/4 mile run. I've also done a few nice burnouts from a dead stop trying to perfect my launch on one of the longer 4 lane roads by the steel mills by my house.
I'd say go for it.. Let us know how you did when you get back! :smile:

2001 DHG Bullitt #171

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Blakwing on 2001-06-20 15:03 ]</font>

·
Registered
10,357 Posts
if it breaks dont tell them you were racing, and also if you have 2k miles allready there should be no problems taking it to the track

> removed maf screen

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Black Sunshine #161 on 2001-06-20 15:04 ]</font>

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, the guy I bought it from (Five Oh B) will probably be there, so I will have to swear him to secrecy. :wink: It happened when I got on to 520, honest.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Is that what is meant by 'heel and toe' driving?

·
Registered
568 Posts